Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is comprised of world leading scientists, physicians and educators in genetic neurological disease research and clinical care. Their fields of expertise include neurology, cell research and immunology, clinical pathology, and genetic research.

H. Orhan Akman, PhD

Research Scientist at H. Houston Merritt Research Center

Columbia University


Salvatore DiMauro, MD

Professor of Neurology Director, H. Houston Merritt Clinical Research Center

Columbia University and Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center


Mia Horowitz, PhD

Professor, Department of Cell Research & Immunology

Tel Aviv University


Kakhlon Or, PhD 

Department of Neurology

Hadassah-Hebrew University Medical Center

Ein Kerem, Jerusalem 91120


Christopher Klein, MD

Department of Neurology

Mayo Clinic


Edwin Kolodny, MD

Professor Emeritus of Neurology; Research Professor; Professor Emeritus; Director of Neurogenetics

Department of Neurology (Neurology)

New York University Neurology Associates


Alexander Lossos, MD

Department of Neurology

Hadassah Medical Center

Jerusalem, Israel


Douglas C. Miller MD,PhD

Clinical Professor of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences

University of Missouri School of Medicine


Berge Minassian, MD

Chief, Division of Child Neurology

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dallas, Texas


Marvin Natowicz, MD, PhD

Department of Clinical Pathology

Cleveland Clinic


Heather A Lau, M.D., M.S.

Assistant Professor, Child Neurology
Director, Lysosomal Storage Disorders Program
Division of Neurogenetics

Department of Neurology, NYU Langone Medical Center


Brent Fogel, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor
Director, Ataxia and Neurogenetics Biobank Program
Department of Neurology
Program in Neurogenetics

David Geffen School of Medicine University of California, Los Angeles


Raphael Schiffmann, M.D., M.H.Sc.

Baylor Health Care
Medical Director of the Institute of Metabolic Disease